Gossamer Forum
Home : General : Perl Programming :

$ENV{'REMOTE_ADDR'}

Quote Reply
$ENV{'REMOTE_ADDR'}
Through some research I thought that I had finally learned how to find the remote address of any given usr viewing a site. I tried using the environmental variable REMOTE_ADDR and I even checked to see how other similar scripts used this variable. I would like to have this tell me the remote usuer's ip but all I seem to get are errors. This piece gives me an error "...Can't find string terminator '"' anywhere before EOF..."

print "your ip: ", $ENV{'REMOTE_ADDR'};

Other pieces however do not give me this error. such as this piece:

print "Server Name: ", $ENV{'SERVER_NAME'};

My goal is to be able to identify users from a log file and add new users using their ip. I am really new to this so I don't know much about all the little tricks to make these things work. I would appreciate some ideas on what I am doing wrong or an alternative I can use.
------------------------------------------------------------
......and why not?
Quote Reply
Re: [A1R3S3F7R] $ENV{'REMOTE_ADDR'} In reply to
You are likely to have errors elsewhere in your code causing the problem as both those examples would not cause the error.

Last edited by:

Paul: Nov 25, 2002, 2:54 AM
Quote Reply
Re: [A1R3S3F7R] $ENV{'REMOTE_ADDR'} In reply to
As I found out just recently, you may need to use double quotes...i.e;

$ENV{"REMOTE_ADDR"};

This may not be the case....as Paul said, its more likely a problem with something not being closed off or something,m further up the script.

Andy (mod)
andy@ultranerds.co.uk
Want to give me something back for my help? Please see my Amazon Wish List
GLinks ULTRA Package | GLinks ULTRA Package PRO
Links SQL Plugins | Website Design and SEO | UltraNerds | ULTRAGLobals Plugin | Pre-Made Template Sets | FREE GLinks Plugins!
Quote Reply
Re: [Andy] $ENV{'REMOTE_ADDR'} In reply to