Gossamer Forum
Home : General : Perl Programming :

Need help with parsing

Quote Reply
Need help with parsing
I need an example on how to parse visible text of the link.
<a href="www.something.com">I NEED THIS PART</a>
I'm just starting to learn Perl, and I really need help on this one.
Thanks!
Quote Reply
Re: [AlexBGD] Need help with parsing In reply to
use HTML::Parser;

One of the examples which come with this module does exactly what you are asking for.

Some might suggest a regex for you. If you are unfamiliar with the input, that is, if the HTML code has been written by someone else, then be sure to use this module. It will catch all those nasty little things you won't expect.

Cheers

- wil
Quote Reply
Wil is obviously trying to discourage people from using suggestions other than his own Wink ....however this regex will do the trick without the overhead of the module, or the inconvenience of having to install it if you don't have it.

Code:

#!/usr/bin/perl

my $your_html = '<a href="www.something.com">I NEED THIS PART</a>';

$your_html =~ s|<a.*?href=[^>]+>(.*?)</a>|$1|i;

print "Content-type: text/html\n\n";
print $your_html;

Quote:
If you are unfamiliar with the input, that is, if the HTML code has been written by someone else, then be sure to use this module. It will catch all those nasty little things you won't expect.

Show me a properly formatted hyperlink that my regex above won't catch and then I'll start recommending HTML::Parser.

Last edited by:

Paul: Jun 14, 2002, 1:58 AM
Quote Reply
Re: [Paul] Need help with parsing In reply to
How about if your HTML wraps over one line? You haven't put any flags in your regex to indicate a match over a line break.

What happens when I want to put a TARGET=_blank in my link?

What about if I want to put a NAME=foo in my link?

Case proven and closed. ;-)

Shouldn't that be a\s+href anyway?

A few comments on your choice of regex, though...