Gossamer Forum
Home : General : Perl Programming :

What's the best editor?

Quote Reply
What's the best editor?
Hey guys, I'm not a cgi programmer but I do have to make mods to scripts ocassionally. I've been using UltraEdit32 but I have a feeling that sometimes I still get cr and lf when trying to edit a script. So the question is, what should I be using?

Will

------------------
Will
Webmaster
FishHoo! Search index for Fishermen
http://www.fishhoo.com
Quote Reply
Re: What's the best editor? In reply to
Fishoo! Excellent! Smile

Well, you'll probably get a ton of answers to a question like that, but when all is said and done, it's really up to what you feel comfortable with. I started out with Notepad, but I found it a little too basic, so now I use Wordpad. It's simple, but hey, it does the job.

One I've seen recommended for coders is EditPlus www.editplus.com/ . I downloaded it, and it does have some nice features such as highlighting different types of code (like stuff in quotes) and line numbering. That said, I haven't actually used it yet.

Call me old-fashioned... Smile

adam
Quote Reply
Thanks for complimenting FishHoo!

I find this all very confusing. From what I have read UltraEdit is supposed to be one of the best editors going and I saw another one called VEDIT recommended, so I downloaded it. I edited a small script with UE, uped it and get the dreaded 500. Made the same changes with VEDIT and it works perfectly. I'm still having a few very small problems with Links. Maybe I need to try VEDIT on them.

Question: What puts in the carriage returns and line feeds and how do you avoid it.

------------------
Will
Webmaster
FishHoo! Search index for Fishermen
http://www.fishhoo.com
Quote Reply
Must confess, I was commenting on the name and not the website. Smile

Anyway, you do realise that script have to be uploaded in ascii, not binary, yes? Probably...