Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Installation :

Another dumb question! :D

Quote Reply
Another dumb question! :D
Ok folks... I am slowly getting the hang of this. However, one small issue. I have a field for age in my database form. This is the code in the default.cfg:

Code:
Age => [3, 'numer', 3, 3, 1, '', ''],

The problem is that I want it to accept ONLY numerical characters and not alpha characters. Unfortunately, it is not doing that. What am I doing wrong?

Ziggy
Quote Reply
Re: Another dumb question! :D In reply to
I think it'll work if you try

Code:
Age => [3, 'numer', 3, 3, 1, '', '[\d+]'],

The regular expression means "one or more digits." If you wanted to make the field optional, use

Code:
'[\d*]'

Now, I am new to regular expressions, so somebody might come along and tell me I've made an error. But that's what my book says. Smile

------------------
JPD
Quote Reply
As usual, JPD... you are right on the money. The [/d+] worked perfectly.

Thanks for all your help in this matter! My database is up and running and looking great!!

Ziggy
Quote Reply
Excellent!!! Ain't it great when it all works?! Smile

Now that you're an expert, I expect to see you here answering questions from the newbies! Wink

------------------
JPD
Quote Reply
I am more than willing to do so!! =) BUT... one last silly little question:

I would like to have the number of apps submitted listed below the Permissions in the main menu, if the login has modify rights. Something like this:

"There have been XXX apps submitted to date."

I was thinking maybe I could use a line like:

Code:
|;
if ($per_mod) {
print qq|
<p><$font>
There have been <b>$db_total_hits</b> applications submitted as of today.</font>|;
}

do you think that would work?
Quote Reply
actually, I tried it and it DOES print the text... but no numbers are listed. Any suggestions?
Quote Reply
You want to know how many records are in the database at a given time?