Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Installation :

Help to setup permission

Quote Reply
Help to setup permission
I want to allow everybody view/add/register, and registered user can modify/delete their record. I tried to change permission many ways but it never work like I wanted. Can anyone help me on this? By the way, what's the link for people to register? This is my current setting:

$auth_no_authentication = 0;
$auth_time = 21600;
$auth_logging = 0;
$auth_allow_default = 1;
@auth_default_permissions = (1,1,0,0,0);
$auth_signup = 0;
@auth_signup_permissions = (1,1,0,0,0);
$auth_modify_own = (1,1,1,0);
$auth_view_own = 1;

Thanks for any help.
Quote Reply
Re: Help to setup permission In reply to
I'm no DBMan expert but...

If you want people to only delete their own record, you'll have to force them to register first. Otherwise, all the records will be 'owned' by the default user, and nobody except admins will be able to delete -unless you let anybody delete any record.
Change
@auth_default_permissions = (1,0,0,0,0);
$auth_signup=1;
@auth_signup_permissions = (1,1,1,1,0);
$auth_modify_own=1;
and
$auth_view_own=1;
(why stop registered people from viewing all records when you have default user access to view all records?)

Hope this helps
Quote Reply
obelisk is right, except that it should be

$auth_view_own = 0;

Otherwise default users won't be able to view any records at all and registered users will only be able to view their own.

I did give someone a mod in the other DBMan forum that would allow users to add a record and register for a userid and password at the same time. I haven't heard back on how it worked, yet, though.

------------------
JPD

Quote Reply
I just add your mods and it's perfect as I wanted. Thanks for the mods JPDeni. You're the man.
Quote Reply
Hi JPDeni,

I also tried to get the mod working. But I wasn't that succesfull.