Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Installation :

Need Help with authorisation modification

Quote Reply
Need Help with authorisation modification
My name is David and I recently stumbled upon your program as I was looking for a membership database script to help me manage my non-profit organisation's membership on the website. Your dbman seems to come highly recommended in the cgi-resource website. As such, I'm very tempted to try it and evaluate it myself. For your information, I'm still new to CGI/Perl but have bought O-Reilly's book to help bring me up to speed on this wonderful language.

The challenge that I have is as follows:

I would like to set up a database where individual members are able to submit their particulars into the website's database. These members are only able to modify and delete their own records although they may view all others. When they submit their records, not all fields will be made available to the public (which excludes themselves and the administrator) for viewing. This is because some of the information are considered private and to be available only to the administrator.

The closest solution which is available on your dbman script is the '-2' option for form_length in your %db_def array. The only problem with this option is that it will make this field only available to the administrator of the database. The individual member will not be able to put in their information here.

In short, how do I set up a database which will allow the member to key in their public and private information without having the private information made available for viewing by the public other then themselves and the administrator????

Besides the above problem, I would like to seek clarification on several questions.

1. How do I change the URL to a similar field which accepts e-mail addresses? (This field in contained in the %db_def array) dbman.

2. What is the use of the 'hidden' setting (i.e. -1) for the form_length field?