Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Installation :

New User needs HELP!

Quote Reply
New User needs HELP!
Hello! I've copied the readme.txt and really have no clue on where to start. I've downloaded and extacted the progam to my desktop. Is there a link or a previous post that will walk me thru installation and set up? What I'm trying to do is set up a Mini-Nubian goat pedigree database. Like the one that is at www.cybergoat.com/NubianTalk/index.html

I'm a new webmaster for a goat club and would like to have a pedigree database available to our members. If I understand the readme.txt file I need to buy a Perl program. I've never heard of Perl before. Are their several brands or versions of that program. Is there a free download for one? I found a DZSoft Perl Editor for $49. I'm not sure if that is the only one out there. I know how to work with FrontPage and Window programs... but have never done anything like this before. I downloaded the trial version of this Perl program and then clicked on db.cgi and a bunch of stuff came up that I dont' know what to do with. I was hoping to find a windows friendly program could come up that I could set the fields I want and the colors and be up and running...

Any help would be appreciated! Please email me directly as I'm anxious to get started!

Becky - Becky@desert-star-ranch.com

Thanks!!!
Quote Reply
Re: [Desert Star] New User needs HELP! In reply to
Quote:
Is there a link or a previous post that will walk me thru installation and set up?

Yep. :-) Start here -- http://www.jpdeni.com/dbman/tutorial1.html -- which will give you an overview of what you need. The pages that follow will guide you through setting up your own database. The tutorial was based on what people most asked about installing the script. I've tried to lay it out so that anyone can follow the directions. If you have any problems understanding it, though, don't hesitate to ask. Input from readers will continue to help me to fine-tune the tutorial.