Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Installation :

Passing userid to field

Quote Reply
Passing userid to field
First let me say, I am not a programmer!! I can read code and decipher what is being done but when I need to do something new it is not so easy.

I am using DBMAN as a software library. I have a listing of software titles for our lab that associates can check out. I want to grab their userid when they go to the "Modify" screen and edit the record if they checkout the software, and when they come back to check it in I want to replace their userid with blank characters again.

I do not know exactly where to begin. Can someone help me with the code to do this??

Don
Quote Reply
Re: Passing userid to field In reply to
You could have an admin-only field for the "checker-outer" -- hidden to the user, but available for you. Also, you would have set the field not to be required.

In html_modify_form_record, after the line that starts with

if (!%rec) { &html_modify_failure

add

unless ($per_admin) {
$rec{'User'} = $db_userid;
}

If you want to automatically clear the field when you modify the record, add these lines:

else {
$rec{'User'} = "";
}

------------------
JPD

Quote Reply
Thank you, JPDeni!

I made all the changes you offered but one. I did not make it a hidden admin only field. I need everyone to see who has it checked out. It is grabbing the userid and updating the record like I want.

There is still two things that I want to do. First, I have three radio buttons to show the status of the software product, Checkin, Checkout, Retired. On the "Modify" screen I would like to have the user field in the database go to blanks when checkin is selected, show the userid when checkout or retired are selected.

Second, only display the 8 digit userid, meaning remove the period and the 14 digits.

I would greatly appreciate any help anyone could offer me.