Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Links : Version 1.x :

Replace and Column Indexes

Quote Reply
Replace and Column Indexes
I have a little stand alone perl script that does several "REPLACE INTO CategoryAlternates" statements. But the REPLACE
doesn't actually replace the old records, instead duplicates are
inserted. For example if there is already a record where CategoryID=100 and LinkID=15, I can insert an identical record into the table (either by hand or with my script). I think this is because of the multiple indexes on CategoryID and LinkID, but I'm no sql pro...

Do the indexes on that table need to be changed to prevent duplicate records?

I have the same problem when I use REPLACE INTO Links. I end up with multiple records with the same URL and CategoryID.

Am I missing something here?

Brian

Quote Reply
Re: Replace and Column Indexes In reply to
Hello!

Quote:
Am I missing something here?

No. Not at all. More you think in this direction, more you will understand what all I have been speaking about in the other thread.

This is exactaly what I am requesting Alex to develop this area in a good way. This feature is so important and necessary for all the webmasters. If people need not to use it, its fine. They may not argue against it, but its so necessary.

You can see that I am also stuck since three months. I am banging my head on the wall. I took a very long time to realize that this kind of export-import area is just not a simple modification. Beleive me. So many issues involved.

What I propose is the following :

Quote:

The entire Links MySQL database MUST be able to get in and come out easily via web interface.