Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Links 2.0 : Customization :

New Mod Possibility?

(Page 1 of 2)
> >
Quote Reply
New Mod Possibility?
I am trying to come up with the best flexible search options for our users. I have thought of something new that might be a great add-on and I am not sure if it is possible or if it has even been done. It is tough to explain, but here goes. As I am new to Links and CGI/Perl, I don't think I have the right stuff as of yet to make this happen. Logically, it makes sense that it would work.

What I am looking for is a drop down menu system on the search page that will only display locations which are being pulled from a new *.db file.

Let's call the new file location.db. This file would operate much like the Category.db file. The difference being that the location.db would pull different locations from the links.db and be built. So when you select Build All, this file would be written with say all location fields that you have but not allowing for duplications.

So if within your links.db file, you have:

1|Link|URL|*|*|*|Texas|*|*|*
2|Link|URL|*|*|*|Utah|*|*|*
3|Link|URL|*|*|*|Utah|*|*|*
4|Link|URL|*|*|*|Michigan|*|*|*
5|Link|URL|*|*|*|Michigan|*|*|*
6|Link|URL|*|*|*|Michigan|*|*|*
7|Link|URL|*|*|*|California|*|*|*

The new file would list only the location names once in order:

California
Michigan
Texas
Utah

This file could then be integrated into a search page thus only displaying locations that are currently within the database, not all locations which could possibly present a user with a bunch of wasted searches.

Like I said, it seems logical, but hard to explain thru the keyboard.... anyone make sense of it?

Quote Reply
Re: New Mod Possibility? In reply to
The simple solution is rather than using &build_select_field in the search codes given you before...replace it with &build_select_field_from_db, which will only pull values from the database and build a drop-down menu.

Regards,

Eliot Lee
Quote Reply