Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Links 2.0 : Customization :

Using antibot in order to prevent "SPAM-submissions"

Quote Reply
Using antibot in order to prevent "SPAM-submissions"
Hi Guys,

I (and I saw also many others) have problems w. bots/search-engine-submissions tools and/or services ab-using our links directories, adding links, that are not at all related to the scope of our directories.Mad

I saw here in the Forum the proposed solutions changing the referer line in links.cfg, but...: a. sooner or later the bots will find a workaround and b. legitimate users could be locked out.

Searching the net I found a nice and free thingy called "Vorras Antibot", a solution similar to the ones used at google.com and altavista.com to prevent automatic subissions.

As I am a designer rather then a perl coder and therefor didnt manage to implemet this nice thing, so I was wondering if some of the Pros here can help, telling the community step by step what has to be done to implement antibot into our Links add.cgi

Find Antibot here:

http://www.vorras.com/products/antibot/

Best Regards,

Citral Smile

Last edited by:

Citral: Jul 23, 2003, 3:41 AM
Quote Reply
Re: [Citral] Using antibot in order to prevent "SPAM-submissions" In reply to
This is like the Captcha project:

http://www.captcha.net

Andy implemented this for LinksSQL:

http://www.gossamer-threads.com/...ring=captcha;#244256

Would be good for Links, too.

------------------------------------------
Quote Reply
Re: [DogTags] Using antibot in order to prevent "SPAM-submissions" In reply to
Hi,

EZ-Gimpy seems perfectly suitable (what is good enough for Yahoo, should be fine for us Cool).

Please indicate a link to a free download-page and provide instructions on how to implement this into Links2.0 add.cgi as I kindly asked im my original post, thank you.

Citral
Quote Reply
Quote: