Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Others : Fileman :

running file manager on a shared server

Quote Reply
running file manager on a shared server
Hello ,

I am an hosting provider . Your file manager works great , so i am considering to buy a license .

However I noticed a security problem . The "command" function provide the client
an ssh/telnet session via web .

For example every client could use cat /etc/passwd and then could browse each user
executing ls /home/user/public_html and so on cacthing code and clean passwords Unsure.

Is there any way to restrict the usage of command in the /home/user directory Wink?
(I am not a perl expert . On php there is the "php safe mode" that restrict the usage
of "command" on a shared enviroments Wink . Is there anything similar to php_safe_mode on perl Shocked ?)

Thanks a lot
Graziano

Quote Reply
Re: [graziano] running file manager on a shared server In reply to
Hi Graziano,

I actually disabled the command option altogether for my users. There really isn't any way to prevent a user from doing just what you mentioned other than your standard security & lock-down practices. Do you offer telnet/ssh access for your clients? There is no difference unless you don't run a CGI wrapper like suEXEC.

Regards,
Charlie
Quote Reply
Re: [Chaz] running file manager on a shared server In reply to
In Reply To:
Hi Graziano,

I actually disabled the command option altogether for my users. There really isn't any way to prevent a user from doing just what you mentioned other than your standard security & lock-down practices. Do you offer telnet/ssh access for your clients? There is no difference unless you don't run a CGI wrapper like suEXEC.

Regards,
Charlie

I don't offer SSH telnet on shared because it's really really dangerous .
I could consider to offer ssh only chrooting clients to /home/user but it's quite complicated for me , so I don't offer ssh/telnet.

Disabling command from your file manager it's useful .