Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Others : MySQLMan :

Dazed and confused

Quote Reply
Dazed and confused
ok, I apologise for my own stupidity here, but I am completely lost. I am trying to install mysqlman, but can't get very far.

I have unzipped the files and installed them in exactly the same structure to my cgi-bin. Thus I have cgi-bin/mysqlman/ and cgi-bin/mysqlman/templates.

I have chmod 755'd the mysqlman.cgi file.

Now what do I do? I can't actually see any instructions about what to run.... Am I supposed to use the URL of the CGI script in my browser, or am I supposed to access one of the HTML templates directly?

Please give a blow by blow account if possible - I am completely new to this - or point me to somewhere that will tell me what to do.

Thanks for your help

Quote Reply
Re: Dazed and confused In reply to
Hi!

You should just point your browser to the mysql.cgi script and go from there.

Cheers,

Alex

--
Gossamer Threads Inc.
Quote Reply
cheers. In which case, I need to reconfigure something, 'cos it doesn't work. I presume that I need to set the path in the config file? Anything else need doing?

Quote Reply
Hi,

I have to agree with Alex on this one :)

I've installed this program (even the 1.0 version) on several different computers and OS's, and most often all I had to do was just run the /mysql.cgi program from where ever it was put.

This new version, my problem was for some reason a file didn't copy over correctly, but otherwise, all I did was put the program in the 'admin' directory of Links SQL and chmod 755 the script, then point the browser to it. No changes to any of the code of the program.

Now, not all systems are the same, or work all the time, but since I use Solaris, I _usually_ hit all those incompatibilities, since it's not a user-friendly OS as much as it's an application/network friendly OS. (that's supposed to be changing with 8 release, but hey, I'm sticking with the 7 for now).

At the top of the config file:

Code: