Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Others : MySQLMan :

querying a mysql database

Quote Reply
querying a mysql database
i am new to mysql and there is one question i can't seem to answer -- how do i setup a page for visitors to my site to use to query the database? i would like to have it so visitors can enter a search string and query the database w/o gaining backdoor access to the tables.

i have installed mysqlman for managing the database, but obviously do not want people directly accessing all admin functions of the database.

it appears on the web as though there are a number of admin programs, but i cannot find a simple solution for querying the database without giving away the keys to the city.

any help would be appreciated. i would like to be able to try a solution before paying for it, so please only recommend free alternatives, as i am only dealing with a very small database that isn't worth spending too much money on at this point.

thanks

Last edited by:

xirocco: Jan 28, 2002, 5:13 PM
Quote Reply
Re: [xirocco] querying a mysql database In reply to
I personally don't know of a way to accomplish a GUI front end within MySQLMan alone. You can, however, allow people access for viewing/searching without allowing them to edit/change your data. This is controlled by taking away rights from guest users.

For the databases that I want to allow the public to view, I allow only the SELECT privilege. Not that many people can understand this without helpful directions but it at least allows people to browse and search...

Hope this helps!

Andrew C Lietzow - The ACL Group, Inc.
Quote Reply
Re: [xirocco] querying a mysql database In reply to
You want to create a web front end to your database? This is possible, but it will cost you. You can either a) pay money for a programmer to code this for you - see custom jobs forum, or b) you can spend time reading and learning how to do this yourself.