Gossamer Forum
Home : General : Databases and SQL :

How to insert time HH:MI AM into tables?

Quote Reply
How to insert time HH:MI AM into tables?
Hi,

I just learnt this SQL language and I'm a student. Could you please tell me how do you insert time into the table? I know you can use TO_DATE('dd/mm/yyyy' , 'xx/xx/xxxx') to insert dates into the table, but how do you insert time e.g. 10.00AM??? I already tried using TO_DATE('HH:MI AM', 'xx:xx AM/PM') but it doesn't work!!!

Thanks in advance...!
Quote Reply
Re: [bezita] How to insert time HH:MI AM into tables? In reply to
Which SQL server are you using?

Last edited by:

Paul: Sep 23, 2002, 2:25 AM
Quote Reply
Re: [Paul] How to insert time HH:MI AM into tables? In reply to
hmm I dont know, I am actually connected to my university database and I'm using Oracle SQL*Plus 8.0!

I just need to create table using CREATE TABLE <table name> ..... and insert all the datas required for my assignment using INSERT INTO <table name>......., and I got problems when inserting time into the tables, when I'm using for example: INSERT INTO flight (departuretime) VALUES (TO_DATE('10:00 PM', 'HH:MI AM'));

but when I inserted the data above, when I looked into the table using SELECT*FROM FLIGHT; it shown 02-SEP-02 instead of the time I inserted....., I dont know what's wrong with that statement...!!???
Quote Reply
You should use the default date type, which is sysdate for Oracle.

Example:

INSERT INTO tbl_something (Date) VALUES (sysdate)

In the table create statement, you would use the following:

COLUMNNAME DATE DEFAULT(sysdate) NOT NULL
========================================
Buh Bye!

Cheers,
Me
Quote Reply
Re: [Stealth] How to insert time HH:MI AM into tables? In reply to
stealth:

I haven't try your suggestion, but I just tried inserting particular date and time such as TO_DATE('26-DEC-02 11:00 AM', 'DD-MON-YY HH:MI AM'), it did insert the correct date, however the time always set @ 12:00 AM...! why???