Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Links 2.0 : Customization :

New(ish) Mod: Report A Dead Link

Quote Reply
New(ish) Mod: Report A Dead Link
This is a simple modification that adds "Dead Link?" next to "Rate It!" in your links. Unlike normal scripts I've adapted it to take the title of the link and auto-insert it into the form. The form is basic but you can add more fields if required.

Please note that I AM NOT A CODER and have only adapted these scripts, not written them. This mod is written for site_html.pl and NOT Templates. Maybe someone can adapt them further or supply the required tags for Templates.

If you would like to see how I have implemented "Dead Link?" on our site visit http://www.audiotoolsdirect.com and select any category. Under each listing you will see "Dead Link?", click this to view the form but PLEASE DO NOT PRESS SUBMIT or I'll be very busy chasing up links that are OK.

Once submitted you will receive something similar to:

Referer: http://www.audiotoolsdirect.com/All_In_One/
ID: 1253
Title: AV Music Morpher
E-mail: sender@email.com

This is all dependent on what form fields you decide to implement.

The files required are attached to this post. If I can be of any help please post here and I'll do whatever I can.
Quote Reply
Re: [MJB] New(ish) Mod: Report A Dead Link In reply to
I don't see how this differs from Paul Wilson's mod for reporting a deadlink, except for the checkboxes for what link to report. Paul's is template-based, and also verifies reported deadlinks, and if they are not dead, the report will not be sent to me, and an error message will state to the reporter that the link cannot be reported dead (see below). This stops the chasing routine you mentioned. I use this mod on my site.

----
Error Reporting Deadlink
The following error was encountered while verifying the deadlink report:
After verification, we find the status of this link to be 200 =(OK 200), therefore you cannot report it!
Thank you for trying.
----