Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Links 2.0 : Customization :

New Mod Request

Quote Reply
New Mod Request
This seems rather a simple mod to do, but since I am no programmer, I would have to stumble my way through it. So, I thought I'd ask the talented people that do these types of things to see if they can do this.

What I propose, is this:
In my database, I have a category or Internet and a subcategory of Classifieds, what I would like to do, is that nobody posts any links to the main category of Internet, but they can post to classifieds directory, but what I would like to happen, is that when someone posts to a sub category, when I rebuild the index, instead of putting the new links on the new page, instead put them on the main category page that their sub category falls under. In this way, I can have say someone listing My classified Ads in the Internet/Classifieds directory, and while it's still new, it will appear on the Internet main page, as well as the Internet/Classifieds page.

So, how difficult would it be to have the script write to the main category page instead of the new page?

Anyone? Has this been done before?

Thanks
Visionary
Quote Reply
Re: New Mod Request In reply to

Quote:
Anyone? Has this been done before?

Answer: Bobsie. Yes. The Category Select Mod in the Resource Center does exactly what you are asking for.

Regards,

------------------
Eliot Lee
Anthro TECH,L.L.C
www.anthrotech.com
----------------------

[This message has been edited by Eliot (edited November 09, 1999).]
Quote Reply
Thanks Eliot,
That took care of half of my mod request. Now the other half of my message was this:
When someone submits a new listing, instead of writing it to the "New" html page, can it be written to the main category that the sub category it has been added to resides under.